In addition to allowing international students to study for the national curriculum qualifications at GCSE (and iGCSE), AS and A Level, we also offer qualifications known as Cambridge Board ESOL qualifications and IELTS and SATs. We are registered as a University of Cambridge International Examinations centre and are happy to take girls to other examination centres as required.

1) Cambridge Board ESOL qualifications

There are three main ESOL qualifications available from the Cambridge Board, a department of the world-famous University of Cambridge.

a) Preliminary English Test (PET) – lower intermediate

PET is for people who can use everyday written and spoken English at an intermediate level. It covers the key language skills – reading, writing, listening and speaking. Preparing for the exam is a popular way to develop and improve your language skills because it provides practical language practice in a variety of everyday work, study and leisure situations.

Studying for the PET offers you a chance to find out your strengths and weaknesses in using English, and gives you a pathway to higher qualifications such as the First Certificate in English (see below).

b) First Certificate in English (FCE) – upper intermediate

FCE is for people who can use everyday written and spoken English at an upper-intermediate level. It is an ideal exam for people who want to use English for work or study purposes.

FCE gives you a pathway to higher qualifications such as the Certificate in Advanced English (see below) and Certificate of Proficiency in English (CPE).

c) Cambridge English: Advanced. Certificate in Advanced English (CAE)

CAE is a high-level qualification that is officially recognised by universities, employers and governments around the world. It is set at C1 level – the second highest on the CEFR scale. C1 is the level of English required for demanding academic and professional settings. It shows that you are highly proficient in English and enables you to follow any academic course at university level.

2) IELTS and SAT qualifications

These qualifications are also an option for our Year 12 and 13 students:

IELTS (International English Language Testing System)

IELTS is the International English Language Testing System, one of the world’s most proven English language tests. It is a secure, valid and reliable indicator of true-to-life ability to communicate in English for education, immigration and professional accreditation. It is made up of four parts – Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. IELTS results are graded on the unique IELTS 9-band scale. Our ESOL department can prepare pupils for the minimum standard for university entrance (6.0-6.5).

SAT (Scholastic Assessment Test)

SAT is a globally recognised overseas university admission test. It tests your knowledge of reading, writing and maths. Almost all colleges and universities in the USA use the SAT to make admissions decisions.